HDMI Field Monitor Review

February 25th, 2010

img_5249

cinema5D reviewed (from left to right):

  • smallHD DP-1
  • ikan V8000HDMI
  • Marshall V-LCD70P-HDMI
  • ikan V5600

Index

Index
Introduction

Surface and Brightness
Resolution
Viewing Angle
Controls 1/2
Controls 2/2
Inputs and Enclosure smallHD DP-1
Inputs and Enclosure ikan V8000-hdmi
Inputs and Enclosure Marshall V-LCD70P-HDMI
Inputs and Enclosure ikan V5600
Battery 1/2
Battery 2/2

Summary
Table of Specs
Pros and Cons

Introduction >>

If this review helped you please donate 1.50$.


30
Leave a Reply

guest
1
1
- 3
Filter:
all
Sort by:
latest
 Lillian Moore
Member
July 13th, 2016

I thought it was interesting that all the monitors that were tested only had digital brightness adjustments. I would have thought that all devices now are mainly digital. When it comes to the use of the screen, would you connect a radio to it or just use it to look at pictures? http://www.cinegears.com/wireless-video-transmitter/

Linuxamd.Com
Guest
August 7th, 2014

I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your website?
Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text
for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

workers
Guest
August 2nd, 2013

Job placement, recruitment and staffing solutions in Ontario Canada. Temporary and permanent employment agency services for electricians, mechanics, forklift operators, truck drivers, machine operators, skilled tradesmen, IT specialists, accountants, receptionists, office assistants, general labour jobs such as welders. Serving Ontario, Toronto and surrounding areas. For more detail please visit us at http://www.amaworkforce.com

staff
Guest
August 2nd, 2013

Job placement, recruitment and staffing solutions in Ontario Canada. Temporary and permanent employment agency services for electricians, mechanics, forklift operators, truck drivers, machine operators, skilled tradesmen, IT specialists, accountants, receptionists, office assistants, general labour jobs such as welders. Serving Ontario, Toronto and surrounding areas. For more detail please visit us at http://www.amaworkforce.com

The Skywoods
Guest
July 30th, 2013

Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and detailed info you offer!

Duo Residences Singapore
Guest
July 30th, 2013

Our family had similar issues, thanks.

women
Guest
March 9th, 2012

Great web site. Lots of useful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks for your sweat!

apple valley church
Guest
March 1st, 2012

This can be a capital in that full-size quest well-suited content material, I’ll contemplate to exculpate. The ammo is so significantly organized that readers swear by amusing me jargon impress for germane seconds. alimony authentic addition.

scalp psoriasis
Guest
November 13th, 2011

I have thought quite a bit about this topic since I’ve started to learn blogs which comparatively talking is not all that lengthy a time. I appreciate your insights and experiences here. They are very candid and it would be exhausting to search out this data elsewhere.

super slim
Guest
October 31st, 2011

I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

Sebastian
Sebastian
Guest
October 31st, 2011
Reply to  super slim

Thanks

best seo wordpress plugins
Guest
October 30th, 2011

My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Leroy Rippe
Guest
January 5th, 2011

Great thing i stumbled upon this. HAHA.. this is what happens when you stay up late, and .. =P Free gifts at the site

Teofila Hunger
Guest
January 5th, 2011

Great thing i happened to fall upon this site. See what happens when you stay up late, and .. explore Free gifts at the site

robert benson
Guest
July 24th, 2010

I make a WIRELESS DSLR MONITOR that takes video or still feed from DSLR (or video camera or HDMI monitor video out) and sends to a wireless, battery powered DSLR monitor. Check it out: http://www.robertbenson.com/blog

rastamansar
rastamansar
Guest
July 5th, 2010

Fooling around in the garage, I’ve made a transmitting and receiving device that sends the feed (video or still photos) from your small DSLR’s monitor to a portable, wireless monitor.

Good for art director’s who want to see what’s going on, without having to look at back of camera, or for indie film makers. Good where shooting tethered might not be practical.

Check it out:
http://robertbenson.com/blog/2010/07/04/wireless-dslr-external-monitor/

Luc Meisel
Luc Meisel
Guest
April 20th, 2010

I would like to know what cable you used to connect the mark2 to the Marshall?
Hdmi to RGB?

if so please direct me to this cable as I have been trying to find such a beast for a while.
Thanks

Luc Meisel
Luc Meisel
Guest
April 20th, 2010
Reply to  Luc Meisel

I see that this model is HDMI while my 70 isnt, damn so close…

Adam J. Richman
Guest
March 12th, 2010

In short, no good monitors available yet. When you’re on a shoot that needs one, rent a Marshall and an HDMI splitter and just deal with it. I like Alan Gordon and Abel Cine for that. I know AG does an HDMI splitter and AC will give you the BM box. Nothing ground breaking here unfortunately… I’ll save my money for now. Thanks for the review.

Julio Herranz
Guest
September 16th, 2010

For a 7 Inch HDMI monitor with YUV,Composite, battery built in and camera mount and great quality I believe the DIGITEX HD7 is a great choice for 295 Euros.
http://www.professionalvideostore.com/product/1267/digitex-dgt-hd7

Scotty
Scotty
Guest
March 2nd, 2010

Please note that the OLDER 2009 Marshall 7″ was reviewed here — not their new 2010 7″ XP model which is same price but with MORE features.

Takeshi Fukushima
Takeshi Fukushima
Guest
February 28th, 2010

Thanks for the review!

I thought it would have been better to see more different models of monitors as the “Rig review”.
Cheaper end Lilliput to Sony/Panasonic monitors. In the price range, I would have liked to see the Ikan VX9! I wonder if you can add onto this report?

Overall, it was really good way see how things stand. Thanks for the hard work!

jayrodriguez
Guest
February 27th, 2010

I have the DP1 and think it’s awesome. Plus the customer service is unbeatable.

Guest
February 26th, 2010

Did you comment on sunshades ?

The smallHD one is great

A possibly poorly informed dealer told my there was not one for the marshall

I have seen images on the net of IKAN having one

Outside I think this critical piece of kit

Also some comments on batteries

Small HD is 12v – may run of bigger packs

I personally like the monitors that take batts off my sony EX1 – 7.6V

It is good to have less styles of battery in your system if possible

S

jared
jared
Guest
February 26th, 2010

The set up I have been using is a 7” Marshall HDMI input via a 2 way HDMI splitter box.. The camera goes into the splitter and then feeds out to the on board monitor and also feeds to a HDMI client monitor. The splitter can be found at Amazon for a little over forty bucks and then you can use any 1080P HDMI LCD monitor on the market. This is a simple solution. The better option for now if you have more to spend would be the Black Magic HDMI-HD/SDI Down converter to an HD/SDI Client Monitor. The 7″ Marshall is bullet proof. The “False Color” feature is awesome for exposure control.

Sho1
Sho1
Guest
February 26th, 2010

Agree. Marshall is the most pro-ready for the budget with more options.
Small HD is good(particularly because of more resolution) but felt big and heavy when I used it on 7D(compared to Marshall).
HDMI is not a pro-ready input as when you wrangle the cable the signal may not be solid compared to SDI. The perfectionists should get a monitor with HD-SDi in/out, forget about the HDMI, and use a Black Magic HDMI-HD-SDI converter so that way you can still monitor from camera while you feed clients monitor on sharp resolution(HD). Those who on budget should get a HDMI-RGB cable and use any of above monitor on camera and feed the client monitor off the monitor’s component output. You’ll save $ for converter and its batteries and still get the decent set up. RGB(component) cables, though can be quite thick, seem more solid than HDMI cables anyways.

lirany
lirany
Guest
February 25th, 2010

What about using 2 of them simultaneously. did you find any useful solution?

rhkfilm
rhkfilm
Guest
February 25th, 2010

Would like to see the Marshall V-LCD651ST-HDMI included in this round-up (though I acknowledge it is more expensive). At 1024×768 and more standard ergonomics it is the front-runner spec-wise.

photonashville
photonashville
Guest
February 25th, 2010

Good review. Thank you.

I would like have to seen in depth comments about each monitors color accuracy, shadow detail and highlight quality for judging kelvin, color and appropriate exposure on set and for judging artificial lighting. How well the image can come close to what we would expect to see on our workstations. Basically, an ideal monitor would also offer as close to WYSIWYG judging for faster shooting environments.

rlmartindale4
rlmartindale4
Guest
February 25th, 2010

Great review! Thanks so much for the input, was already leaning towards the DP-1. My mind is now made up!

1
1
- 3
Filter:
all
Sort by:
latest

Take part in the CineD community experience