Blackmagic Live Stream “Camera and DaVinci Resolve” Press Conference

March 2nd, 2017
Blackmagic Live Stream “Camera and DaVinci Resolve” Press Conference

Blackmagic Design have sent out invitations via email and posted teasers on social media inviting people to a live stream of “a press conference showing our latest camera and post production technology” today. What’s behind this Blackmagic Live Stream?

Blackmagic Live Stream. Photo credit: Blackmagic

While we don’t know what to expect from this Blackmagic Live Stream, one can presume that DaVinci Resolve 13 is a likely candidate for announcement, given that their invite specifically mentions their professional post-production software. There is, however, surprisingly little  information in the wild about this press conference. Some rumours have started circulating about a 4K update to their MFT Pocket Cinema Camera, with the addition of an H.265 codec. All we know is that we can’t wait to tune in and find out what Blackmagic have up their sleeves.

https://youtu.be/XXAVGEiSA_c

Local times indicated below, to see what they have in store for us.

Leave me your guesses in the comments below, and let’s see who gets it right!

Los Angeles 12:00 pm PST Thursday 2nd March 2017

New York 3:00 pm EST Thursday 2nd March 2017

London 8:00 pm GMT Thursday 2nd March 2017

Tokyo 5:00 am JST Friday 3rd March 2017

Sydney 7:00 am AEDT Friday 3rd March 2017

13
Leave a reply

guest
Filter:
all
Sort by:
latest
Member
March 2nd, 2017

Great looking camera ergonomically for run and gun work and great that they have clearly been listening to customer feedback with this model however no mention on any sensor change in the presentation.I assume therefore it’s still the same?

Member
March 2nd, 2017
Reply to  Darren Wolff

It is the same. Same IR pollution problems as well then.

Member
March 3rd, 2017
Reply to  Darren Wolff

Whoops. High quality IR ND’s!

 John Tether
John Tether
Member
March 2nd, 2017

Making this announcement before another camera (The GH5) is released. Guess we’ll find out in a hour what they have cooking!

T F
T F
Member
March 2nd, 2017

An URSA that weighs less than 17 lbs.

Jared Wilcox
Guest
March 2nd, 2017

Hoping for Davinci Resolve 13

Aram Khachaturyan
Guest
March 3rd, 2017
Reply to  Jared Wilcox

I was too

Jared Wilcox
Guest
March 3rd, 2017
Reply to  Jared Wilcox

I think they added minor updates to 12.5 maybe? I haven’t gotten a chance to watch the full broadcast yet

 Mercy Warhol
Mercy Warhol
Member
March 2nd, 2017

Gimbal ready 4.6k camera. The preview clearly looks like an ursa mini front end, 4.6k is visible also..

 Greg Althoff
Greg Althoff
Member
March 2nd, 2017
Reply to  Mercy Warhol

I noticed that as well.. fingers crossed for something that is more affordable in price :)

 Mercy Warhol
Mercy Warhol
Member
March 2nd, 2017
Reply to  Greg Althoff

I’d love to see that sensor in a smaller form factor and slightly more affordable! It would really be amazing.

 Greg Althoff
Greg Althoff
Member
March 2nd, 2017

Really hoping they have a new Pocket cinema camera. It’s both overdue and would crush the competition at this point ;)

But if it’s not that.. I’m guessing they have a new camera with both crazy dynamic range and FPS that beat their previous models and keep up with the other companies.

I mean why else have a preview image of slow motion colored smoke?!

Filter:
all
Sort by:
latest

Take part in the CineD community experience