38th Annual ASC Awards Winners Announced

38th Annual ASC Awards Winners Announced

Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC has won the 38th Annual ASC Theatrical Feature Film Award in Cinematography for his work on the film, Oppenheimer. This was van Hoytema’s first ASC award, although he was previously nominated for Dunkirk (2018) and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2012). Read on to learn about all the winners of this year’s ASC Awards.

Last night, the 38th ASC Awards were handed to their winners at a ceremony held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles last night. You can watch a recording of the entire 3-hour ceremony here on ASC’s Vimeo account.

Nominees in the category for Theatrical Feature Film included Edward Lachman, ASC for El Conde (Netflix), Matthew Libatique, ASC, LPS for Maestro (Netflix), Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple TV+), and Robbie Ryan, ISC for Poor Things (Searchlight).

Tara Jenkins of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) spoke with van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC before his win, suggesting that his approach, which involved crafting a ‘probe lens’ with Dan Suzaki and utilizing large format 65mm black and white film, marked a pioneering endeavor in the realm of cinematography.

Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC interview with Tara Jenkins of ASC. Source: American Cinematographer

Every film should have its own unique language, if you will, and it’s always very exciting for me to come up with ideas that aren’t just chosen off a shelf.

Hoyte van Hoytema in an interview with Tara Jenkins of ASC

List of 38th ASC Awards Winners

Full list of winners in the various categories at the 38th ASC Awards (You can see a full list of the nominees on the ASC website here):

  • THEATRICAL FEATURE FILM: Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Oppenheimer
  • SPOTLIGHT AWARD: Warwick Thornton for The New Boy
  • EPISODE OF A ONE-HOUR TELEVISION SERIES: M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Four Minutes” (Prime Video)
  • EPISODE OF A HALF-HOUR SERIES: Carl Herse for Barry, “Tricky Legacies” (Max)
  • DOCUMENTARY AWARD: Curren Sheldon for King Coal
  • MUSIC VIDEO AWARD: Jon Joffin, ASC for At Home (Performed by Jon Bryant)

As part of the MZed series, the ASC Clubhouse Conversations, van Hoytema gives insights and examines his contributions to the film “Oppenheimer.”, and talks about his horror sci-fi film Note. You can sign up for MZed, if you haven’t already, and watch the whole talk here for free.

ASC Clubhouse Conversation (on with Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC on Oppenheimer. Source: ASC/MZed

We here at CineD would like to extend our congratulations to Hoyte on winning this well-deserved award. We look forward to seeing more of his work in the future!

What do you think about Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC winning the theatrical Feature Film Award in Cinematography for Oppenheimer? Was this one of your favorites this year? Did you think a different film should have gotten the award? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a reply

Notify of

Sort by:
Sort by:

Take part in the CineD community experience