ASC Award TV Nominees Announced – Five Nominations for HBO

December 8th, 2016 Jump to Comment Section
ASC Award TV Nominees Announced - Five Nominations for HBO

Since 1920, the prestigious American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) credentials have appeared in film titles next to some of the most celebrated cinematographers in history. The ASC has announced their ASC Award TV nominees, and HBO leads the group with five nominations. Read the full list and more below!

Picture: HBO

Picture: HBO

HBO has led the TV awards season field for several years now, and if the ASC awards are any indication, that isn’t likely to end soon. Game of Thrones, Westworld, All The Way and The Night Of  each landed nominations for HBO, with Game of Thrones receiving two nominations in the Non-Commercial category. Each of the 15 nominees were selected by ASC members.

Irish cinematographer John Conroy received his first nomination for his work on Showtime’s gorgeous-looking Penny Dreadful. Below is the trailer for his nominated episode: “The Day Tennyson Died”.

Anette Haellmigk, the only female nominee, is nominated for her work on the episode “Book of the Stranger”, also for Game of Thrones. This is her third nomination for Game of Thrones after two in 2014 and 2015. Her first nomination came for Season 4’s epic finale, “The Children“. Trailer for “Book of the Stranger” below:

Christopher Norr has been nominated for a third consecutive time for his work on Fox’s Gotham, this time for the episode “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze”. The show has been touch and go with audiences and critics alike, but none of that changes the fact that Gotham looks great. Here is a quick promo for this years nominated episode:

Full List of Nominees: 

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television

  • John Conroy for Penny Dreadful, “The Day Tennyson Died” (SHOWTIME)
  • David Dunlap for House of Cards, “Chapter 45” (NETFLIX)
  • Anette Haellmigk for Game of Thrones, “Book of the Stranger” (HBO)
  • Neville Kidd for Outlander, “Prestonpans” (STARZ)
  • Fabian Wagner, BSC for Game of Thrones, “Battle of the Bastards” (HBO)

 Regular Series for Commercial Television

  • Tod Campbell for Mr. Robot (USA)
  • John Grillo for Preacher, “Finish the Song” (AMC)
  • Kevin McKnight for Underground, “The Macon 7” (WGN)
  • Christopher Norr for Gotham, “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze” (FOX)
  • Richard Rutkowski for Manhattan, “Jupiter” (WGN)

 Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television

  • Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC for Harley and the Davidsons, “Amazing Machine” (DISCOVERY)
  • Paul Cameron, ASC for Westworld, “The Original” (HBO)
  • Jim Denault, ASC for All The Way (HBO)
  • Alex Disenhof for The Exorcist, “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee” (FOX)
  • Igor Martinovic for The Night Of, “Subtle Beast” (HBO)
Picture: John P. Johnson/HBO

Picture: John P. Johnson/HBO

Since 2000, the “golden age of TV” has been defined by improved cinematography and storytelling, and the above cinematographers are helping to further blur the line between film and television production value.

Winners will be announced on February 4, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Sort by:
Sort by:

Take part in the CineD community experience